Spelling rules- year 3 and 4

Off the back of my post a few days ago, I’ve made some more spelling posters. This time, I’ve made the year 3/4 spelling rules and a few other common ones, such as plurals. I would use these when introducing a new spelling rule in a spelling lesson as they give clear examples of when the rule applies. I also always make sure to say that there are many exceptions to the rules, but these are the best guesses!

As always, I’d love to hear what you think and how you might use them. Hope they’re useful!

Another thing that I’m also working on is a set of challenges for each spelling rule, which can be used in a spelling lesson. Each of these relate to the spelling poster for the same rule, so there is a prompt for solving the challenge. The aim for this is for children to really understand the rule, not just have a surface understanding. Also, as the questions are based on the posters, they are improving their reading comprehension!

Published by

Sarah F

I'm a year 6 teacher in Bristol with an English Language degree who loves reading, writing and anything creative. Follow me on Twitter @SarahFarrellKS2

9 thoughts on “Spelling rules- year 3 and 4”

  1. Hi Mrs F, I’d love to have an electronic version of the Y3/4 spelling rules. Is it possible to e-mail me a copy? Thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. I love these! I have already been using your reading idea too! Is there a chance you could email an electronic copy along with the year 5/6? Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment